In its seventh year, The Aspen Challenge is launching in partnership with Jefferson County Public Schools in 2019. Twenty teams from across the city will participate. Over eight weeks, teams of students from high schools across Louisville will design creative solutions to pressing issues in their communities and showcase them for a panel of local judges.




Jefferson County Public Schools is a leading urban school district that provides a high-quality education for more than 100,000 students (about 1 of every 7 students in Kentucky).  JCPS's mission is to challenge and engage each learner to grow through effective teaching and meaningful experiences within caring, supportive environments.  Their students graduate prepared, empowered, and inspired to reach their full potential and contribute as thoughtful, responsible citizens of our diverse, shared world.




  • Butler Traditional High School

  • Central High School, Magnet & Career Academy

  • Doss High School

  • duPont Manual High School

  • Eastern High School

  • Fairdale High School

  • Fern Creek Traditional High School

  • Georgia Chaffee Teenage Parent Program

  • Iroquois High School

  • J. Graham Brown High School

  • J.M. Atherton High School

  • Jeffersontown High School

  • Louisville Male High School

  • Marion C. Moore School

  • Southern High School

  • The Academy at Shawnee

  • Valley Traditional High School

  • Waggener High School

  • Waller-Williams Environmental School

  • Western High School Early College Academy